Kazuyo Sejima appointed to Pritzker Prize jury

SANAA's co-founder will help to decide the recipient of the architecture world’s most prestigious honor

by Rossana Vinci
11 Love 3804 Visits

Chicago, (January 30, 2018) - The Pritzker Architecture Prize appoints 2010 Pritzker Laureate Kazuyo Sejima as the newest member of the Pritzker Prize Jury. This year marks the 40th anniversary of the accolade, which has come to be known internationally as architecture’s highest honor.


Commenting on her nomination, Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation, said, “During her acceptance speech of the 2010 Pritzker Prize, Ms. Sejima remarked, ‘…this award is not only in recognition of our past works but rather an encouragement toward new architectural creations.’ It is this credence, alongside her international background and experience, that makes her a welcomed addition to the Jury.”


Ms. Sejima is the co-founder of Toyko-based SANAA, alongside 2010 Pritzker Laureate Nishizawa Ryue, which opened in 1995. She is also a professor at Polytechnic University of Milan; University of Applied Arts Vienna; Keio University, Tokyo; Yokohama Graduate School of Architecture Y-GSA; and a visiting professor at Japan Women’s University, Tokyo.


“I am looking forward to working with my colleagues on the jury and supporting the mission of the Pritzker Prize,” comments Ms. Sejima.



Sejima will join 8 other jury members for the award, including:


- Jury Chair Glenn Murcutt, architect and 2002 Pritzker Laureate, Sydney, Australia
- Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Washington, D.C., USA
André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to Japan, Tokyo, Japan
- The Lord Palumbo, architectural patron, Chairman Emeritus of the Trustees, - Serpentine Galleries, London, United Kingdom
Richard Rogers, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate, London, United Kingdom
Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate, Hangzhou, China
Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, Barcelona, Spain
Ratan N. Tata, Chairman of Tata Trusts, Mumbai, India.


Kazuyo Sejima & Ryue Nishizawa, © SANAA


Factory Building on the Vitra Campus © SANAA


Rolex Learning Center / EPFL SANAA ©Hisao Suzuki 



    Factory Building on the Vitra Campus 101

    Factory Building on the Vitra Campus

    Weil am Rhein / Germany / 2012

    Rolex Learning Center 100

    Rolex Learning Center

    Lausanne / Switzerland / 2010