eVolo 2014 Skyscraper Competition

Redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies

by eleonora usseglio prinsi
0 Love 1047 Visits

COMPETITION _ eVolo Magazine launches the new edition of eVolo 2014 Skyscraper Competition.

The annual Skyscraper Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, and spatial organizations along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution.

It is a forum that examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city.

The participants should take into consideration the advances in technology, the exploration of sustainable systems, and the establishment of new urban and architectural methods to solve economic, social, and cultural problems of the contemporary city including the scarcity of natural resources and infrastructure and the exponential increase of inhabitants, pollution, economic division, and unplanned urban sprawl.

Phobia Skyscraper _ Darius Maïkoff, Elodie Godo; Top: Polar Umbrella _ Derek Pirozzi

The competition is an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community. It is also a response to the exploration and adaptation of new habitats and territories based on a dynamic equilibrium between man and nature – a new kind of responsive and adaptive design capable of intelligent growth through the self-regulation of its own systems.

Architects, students, engineers, and designers are invited to participate in the competition. Participants must register by January 14, 2014. Early Registration:  USD $95 until November 19, 2013.

Light Park Floating Skyscraper _ Ting Xu, Yiming Chen

Entrants must submit their proposal via email no later than January 20, 2014 to the following email address: [email protected]

The winners will be awarded with: 1st place – US $5000, 2nd place – US $2000 and 3rd place – US $1000.