2020 Richard Rogers Fellowship shortlist announced

The six winners of Wimbledon House’s residency program for architectural and urban research

by Archilovers
2 Love 3197 Visits

Harvard Graduate School of Design announces winners of 2020 Richard Rogers fellowship, the Wimbledon House’s residency program for architectural and urban research.

The six fellows named for the 2020 cycle were chosen from more than 150 applicants from around the world. In addition to a three-and-a-half-month residency, each fellow receives travel expenses to London and a $10,000 cash purse.

They will pursue research on a variety of issues, including allocation of parking around new buildings in London, the formal consequences of building booms on the city’s urban fabric, and the civic imaginaries that may be gleaned from building code.

Richard Rogers House in Wimbledon recently restored by Gumuchdjian Architects





Spring 2020
Timothy Ivison (Los Angeles, CA)
Emma Letizia Jones (Zurich, Switzerland)


Summer 2020
Sean Canty (Cambridge, MA)
Michelle Chang (Cambridge, MA)


Fall 2020
Thomas Shay Hill (Somerville, MA)
Henry Grabar (Chicago, IL)


The 2021 Richard Rogers Fellowship cycle will begin accepting applications in October 2020.


The GSD introduced the Richard Rogers Fellowship in October 2016, and named its inaugural class of fellows in February 2017. Since its inception, the Richard Rogers Fellowship has drawn scholars from a range of fields and backgrounds to London, where they have engaged with that city’s great research and design institutions.


The 2020 Richard Rogers Fellowship Selection Committee was co-chaired by Mohsen Mostafavi and Sarah Whiting, and included Eve Blau, Ricky Burdett, Hanif Kara, Niall Kirkwood, Farshid Moussavi, Irénée Scalbert, and Simon Smithson


Via gsd Harvard 




Cover: The Wimbledon House, site of the GSD's Richard Rogers Fellowship. Photo by Iwan Baan.