The 10th Annual AZ Awards is Now Open for Submissions

by Archilovers
3 Love 2352 Visits

The annual AZ Awards is open for submissions. Now in its TENTH installment, the AZ Awards is a unique opportunity for those in the design and architecture community to receive the international exposure and acknowledgement that their exceptional work deserves.

2020 marks a major milestone for the AZ Awards – a decade of recognizing excellence in design and architecture across the world. Since Toronto-based AZURE debuted the AZ Awards in 2011, the program has grown in size, scope and momentum to be internationally recognized and acknowledged for its influence and significance within the global design and architecture spheres.

In 2019 – the most successful year yet – the AZ Awards received projects from over 1,000 architects, landscape architects, product designers, interior designers, students and manufacturers from 50 countries. From that outstanding number, the international jury of experts selected 68 finalists, chosen for their innovative design, impressive environmental or social benefits, or for simply evoking delight.

AZ Awards 2020 welcomes submissions until February 18 and promises to attract entries from some of the most forward-thinking firms from all corners of the globe. A jury of internationally renowned practitioners in the areas of product design, architecture, landscape architecture and interiors will convene in Toronto in March to evaluate the entries. Past jurors have included Thom Mayne, Nader Tehrani, Nina-Marie Lister, Chris Wilkinson, Philippe Malouin, Claire Weisz, Craig Dykers, Michel Rojkind and Brigitte Shim. Stay tuned to find out who is on the 2020 AZ Awards Jury!

Winners will be revealed at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto on June 19, 2020. The gala has become the event of the season, an exciting evening to see and be seen with fellow members of the industry’s elite. Every year, close to 500 top architects, designers and industry-related professionals come together to meet, mingle and celebrate the finalists and winners. Past finalists have travelled from as far away as South Korea, Austria, Brazil, Peru and Japan to join the festivities. Winners take home an AZ trophy created by an exciting designer – in past years, such luminaries as Michael Anastassiades, Matt Carr, Philippe Malouin, Karim Rashid, and Omer Arbel have designed trophies for the AZ Awards.

The gala also welcomes an annual international guest of honour; previous years’ guests have included legendary landscape architect Martha Schwartz, architect Winy Maas, co-founder of the Dutch architecture firm MVRDV and designer Gaetano Pesce. Look for announcements later this year about our special gala guest and the 2020 AZ Awards trophy designer.

Azure and its partners encourage design and architecture professionals, students and manufacturers to submit their work to the AZ Awards for an opportunity to step into the global spotlight, elevate their profile, and raise public awareness for their firm and their clients.

The 2020 AZ Awards is presented by JennAir, Keilhauer and Landscape Forms and sponsored by Cosentino.
The 2020 AZ Awards Gala sponsors are George Brown School of Design, Improve and Scavolini.

Submissions close Tuesday, February 18, 2020 (early bird submissions end January 31, 2020). Online entry portal and more information at

JANUARY 2: Call for entries
JANUARY 31: Early Bird Deadline
FEBRUARY 18: Deadline for entries
APRIL: Finalists notified
APRIL 2 to MAY 1: People’s Choice voting JUNE 19: AZ Awards Gala in Toronto
JUNE: AZ Awards Annual Issue on newsstands


The 2020 AZ Awards are open to:

• Designers and design firms from all disciplines
• Architects, landscape architects and architectural firms
• Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2019
• Clients and manufacturers
• Projects must be completed by December 31, 2019
• Products must be prototyped or in production
• Concepts must have been developed or presented for the first time in 2019


Architecture: Residential buildings; commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square metres; commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square metres; temporary and demonstration projects
Landscape Architecture: Public and private landscapes
Interiors: Residential spaces; commercial and institutional spaces
Design: Furniture; furniture systems; lighting fixtures; lighting installations; interior products; architectural products;
Experiential Graphic Design: Wayfinding; sign programs; information and map design; experiential brand identity
Concepts: Unbuilt competition entries; concepts/prototypes
A+ Award: Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2019. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Projects may be entered in one or both categories.

For the Social Good Award, projects must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm.

For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use


Online entry portal and more information at