Deadline extended for the BigMat International Architecture Award ’19

by Cecilia Di Marzo
0 Love 1346 Visits

The deadline for entries to the BigMat International Architecture Award has been extended until May 16. Applicants to compete among the best architecture built in Europe can still register for free online. The biennial prize rewards quality architectural production in Europe with more than 70.000€.

BigMat International Architecture Award ’17 Grand Prize, FRAC Grand Large by Lacaton & Vassal © Laurian Ghinitoiu


The prize is open to architects who work in one of the seven participating countries: Belgium, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, France, Italy, Portugal and Spain. Any architects whose professional address is in any of the seven participating countries and whose works have also been built in these territories can submit their works until the 16th of May 2019. To be eligible for the award, the project must have been built between 1 January 2015 and 1 January 2019 in any of the participating countries. Buildings that won or made the final in previous editions of this competition may not be entered again into this fourth edition.


The panel of judges will award a total of 14 prizes across the different categories and each of the seven countries taking part in the contest must be represented. There will also be a Special Mention for Young Architects. Of the 14 awards handed out under the different categories, the awards panel shall select seven National winners. The seven winning entries for each of the countries taking part will then compete for the BigMat International Architecture Award ’19 Grand Prize.

BigMat International Architecture Award ’17 Grand Prize, FRAC Grand Large by Lacaton & Vassal © Philippe Ruault


The panel of judges will comprise one member for each of the participating countries –all of which experts of recognized prestige- as well as the President of the jury, Jesús Aparicio (Doctor in Architecture and Professor of Architectural Projects at the Technical University of Madrid) and the Awards Secretary, Jesús Donaire (Architect and Associated lecturer in Architectural Projects at the Technical University of Madrid).

The BigMat´19 Award members of the jury are:

  • Jesús Aparicio Guisado, Award President.
  • Jesús Donaire, Award Secretary.
  • Belgium: Stéphane Beel, architect and founder of architecture studio Stéphane Beel Architects.
  • Czech Republic and Slovakia: Petr Pelčak, architect and founder of architecture studio Pelčak a Partner architekti.
  • France: Philippe Prost, architect and National Award Winner for France at BigMat’15.
  • Italy: Paolo Zermani, architect and academician of the Accademia Nazionale di San Luca in Rome.
  • Portugal and Spain: Fuensanta Nieto, architect awarded the Alvar Aalto Medal in 2015.

From left to right: Jesús Aparicio, Jesús Donaire, Petr Pelčak, Philippe Prost, Fuensanta Nieto, Stéphane Beel, Paolo Zermani.


All participating architects will have the opportunity to compete before this panel of internationally renowned judges, charged with designating the winner of the BigMat International Architectural Award ’19 Grand Prize  (30.000€), as well as the winners of the 6 National Prizes (5.000€), 7  Prizes for Finalists ’19(1.500€) and the Special Mention for Young Architects (1.500€).

The registration period for the current edition was initially open from 14 January through to 26 April 2019. However, following the great participation during the last few weeks the deadline for applications has now been extended up to 16 May 2019. The closing event and awards ceremony will be held in the French city of Bordeaux, on Friday 22 November 2019, coinciding with the Annual Congress of the BigMat International Group.

In the interest for disseminating information about the runners-up and the prizewinners, a catologue will also be published. The 2013 BigMat Architecture Award catalogue, 2015 BigMat Architecture Award catalogue and 2017 BigMat Architecture Award catalogue are available online, too. All the information and the submission forms can be viewed in the official webpage of the Prize.

In the last edition the FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais art center by the French architects Lacaton & Vassal followed the kitchen tower by Xaveer De Geyter (winner in 2013) and the Offices for Junta Castilla León by Alberto Campo Baeza (winner in 2015) as Grand Prize of the biannual award.

BigMat International Architecture Award ’13 Grand Prize: Elishout Kitchen Tower Campus COOVI, Brussels, by Xaveer De Geyter Architects (XDGA) © Frans Parthesius

BigMat International Architecture Award ’15 Grand Prize: Office building in Zamora, Spain, Campo Baeza Architecture Studio © Javier Callejas

➤ Official press release

    FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais 37

    FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais

    Dunkirk / France / 2013

    Offices for Junta Castilla León 235

    Offices for Junta Castilla León

    Zamora / Spain / 2012