8 Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Nominated for UNESCO's World Heritage List

The list spans Wright’s 50-year career

by Rossana Vinci
14 Love 4007 Visits

The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, a private nonprofit organization based in Chicago, Illinois, has coordinated the nomination to the World Heritage List of a group of eight major works by Frank Lloyd Wright, widely considered to be the greatest American architect of the 20th century.


Titled “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright”, the list (a revision of a previous application lodged in February 2015) represents the first modern architecture nomination from the United States to the World Heritage List.

The eight component buildings of this series are located in six states, encompassing a wide variety of geographic and cultural settings across the breadth of the continental United States.
The buildings range in size from a small house to large public constructions. Their functions include houses, studio and educational facilities, a place of worship, and a museum.


The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, spanning 50 years of Wright’s career, includes:



1. Unity Temple (constructed 1906-1909, Oak Park, Illinois)

Ph. © Photo courtesy of the Unity Temple Restoration Foundation



2. The Frederick C. Robie House (constructed 1910, Chicago, Illinois)

Ph. © Nick Abele



3. Taliesin (constructed 1911-1959, Spring Green, Wisconsin)

Ph. © Andrew Pielage



4. Hollyhock House (constructed 1918-1921, Los Angeles, California)

Ph. © Joshua White



5. Fallingwater (constructed 1936-1939, Mill Run, Pennsylvania)

Ph. © Photo courtesy of the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy



6. The Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House (constructed 1936-1937, Madison, Wisconsin)

Ph. © Joe Koshollek



7. Taliesin West (begun 1938, Scottsdale, Arizona)

Ph. © Andrew Pielage


8. Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (constructed 1956-1959, New York, New York).

Ph. © Photo courtesy of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum



The next step is for the International Council on Monuments and Sites to review the list and take it into consideration for the 2019 World Heritage Meeting in July next year. If chosen, the collection will join the 1,092 designated sites currently on the UNESCO World Heritage List, including the Taj Mahal and Sydney Opera House.




Ph. © Getty Images/STAN HONDA


    Fallingwater 57


    Pennsylvania / United States

    Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum 43

    Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

    New York / United States / 1943