5 Finalists announced! Who will win the 2017 EU Mies Award?

by Cecilia Di Marzo
2 Love 6104 Visits

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists which will compete for the 2017 European Union Prize for
Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.

The press conference ran by Stephen Bates, Chairman of the 2017 Jury and Ivan Blasi, coordinator of the Prize, has taken place at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, which generated the organization of the Prize in 1988.

The five finalists are:

deFlatKleiburg (Amsterdam, NL) by NL Architects and XVW architectuur

Ely Court
 (London, UK) by Alison Brooks Architects 

 (Ribe, DK) by Lundgaard & Tranberg Architects

Katyn Museum (Warsaw, PL) by BBGK Architekci; Plasma Project s.c. Justyna Derwisz, Adam Kozak; Maksa Sp. z o.o.

Mémorial du Camp de Rivesaltes
 (Rivesaltes/Ribesaltes, FR) by Rudy Ricciotti Architecte D.P.L.G.

The Jury will visit the 5 works in April.
The Prize Winner and the Emerging Architect Winner will be announced in Brussels on May 16.

The Award Ceremony will take place on 26 May 2017 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. Save the date for the lectures, debates, exhibition opening and celebration that will take place with the Jury members, Winners, Finalists and other guests and representatives.

    DeFlat Kleiburg 3

    DeFlat Kleiburg

    Amsterdam / Netherlands / 2016

    Ely Court 7

    Ely Court

    City of London / United Kingdom / 2015

    Kannikegården 28


    Ribe / Denmark / 2015

    Katyn Museum 4

    Katyn Museum

    Warsaw / Poland / 2015

    Mémorial du Camp de Rivesaltes 42

    Mémorial du Camp de Rivesaltes

    Rivesaltes / France / 2015