Eleven Up-and-Coming Designers Chosen As 11th ICFF Studio Class

The designers chosen represent five countries and six design categories

by Angelica Marino
1 Love 2026 Visits


For 28 years, ICFF® remains the top North American platform to experience the future of global design, today. As part of its commitment to discovering “what’s new, what’s next,” ICFF continues its 11 year partnership with Bernhardt Design to bring the next crop of emerging designers shaping design to the forefront through the juried ICFF Studio competition.


“The selection process was extremely difficult for ICFF and the Bernhardt Design team this year,” said Kevin O’Keefe, ICFF Event Director. “The response to be named as part of the 2016 ICFF Studio class was overwhelming with hundreds of submissions from around the world.”


To enter the competition, a designer must have a working prototype that is not in commercial production. All submissions were reviewed by established industry professionals, allowing those recognized by the ICFF Studio program to stand in a class of their own. Entries are judged on design aesthetics, the ability to be economically mass produced, marketability and commercial viability.


Members of the ICFF Studio 2016 class are:


Ana Arana of Madrid, Spain, for her Gali kitchen system

Axel Bergholm of Stockholm, Sweden, for his Peek lounge chair

Caroline Smedsvig of Bergen, Norway, for her ASK bench

Co * Ca’s Colin Westeinde of Providence, RI USA, for his Platypus Light Series

Dee Ding of Pasadena, CA USA, for her Ravel chair

Florestan Schuberth of Hamburg, Germany, for his Lunar table

India Hillis of Los Angeles, CA USA, for her Hyperion table

Isaac Southard of Philadelphia, PA USA, for his 19 Lines chair

Jonathan Hills of Pawtucket, RI USA, for his Catenary stool

Julie Hong of Glendale, CA USA, for her Siesta seating system

Taylor McKenzie-Veal of Chicago, IL USA, for his Bow chair


As part of the ICFF Studio program, finalists work to finalize one exemplary product prototype, and have it featured on the ICFF show floor in a gallery-like environment, different from most other juried shows.


“The quality and breadth of products we see each year continues to surprise and amaze me,” said Jerry Helling, president and creative director of Bernhardt Design. “This year’s collection is a testament to the fact that good design transcends materials, styles and geographies. Good design is truly universal.”


ICFF Studio has been a career catalyst for over a hundred designers, including Ini Archibong, whose work is currently on exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum; Los Angeles-based design entrepreneur and television personality Nolen Niu; Jonah Takagi of Washington, D.C.-based Atelier Takagi; and Todd Bracher, whose body of work includes pieces for Humanscale, 3M and Sodastream.


For more information visit http://www.icff.com.