Announcing the Winners of the 2020 AZ Awards

The results of Azure’s 10th annual AZ Awards competition are in!

by Archilovers
1 Love 1785 Visits


In a landmark year, AZURE celebrates the winners and finalists of the 10th annual AZ Awards. The first-ever virtual AZ Awards Gala featured inspiring special appearances by All-Star guests and the 20 winners of the AZ Awards 2020, participating from their homes and offices around the world. The local and international architecture world came together in a big way!


On Friday, September 18, AZURE took to the world wide web and social media platforms to reveal the 20 winners of the 2020 AZ Awards. These standouts in categories as varied as product design, architecture, landscape architecture, concepts, and student work represent the very best work being created today. They include a spiraling tower that rises above the forest floor in Denmark, a public swimming pool sanitized by natural processes (no chlorine!), and an ethereal light fixture that seems to disappear when switched off. The winners were awarded a unique trophy designed by Luca Nichetto, one of this year’s AZ Awards jurors, made of glass blown in his native Venice.


The 2020 AZ Awards Gala is now available for viewing on AZURE’s Youtube and Facebook channels. 



The four other jurors were: Canadian architect Omar Gandhi, designer Stephanie Davidson of Davidson Rafailidis, architect Marion Weiss of New York’s Weiss/Manfredi, and Los Angeles landscape architect Mia Lehrer. They selected the 20 AZ Awards Winners and 48 Awards of Merit, chosen from 1,241 entries from 47 countries.


In the unusual year that has been 2020, jurors met remotely and across various time zones. For the gala, the requisite physical distancing was maintained without sacrificing the style and fun of previous years. The virtual gala featured special appearances by 10 All-Stars from around the world, including Karim Rashid, Yves Béhar, Martha Schwartz, and Nader Tehrani, who shared their words of congratulations and inspiration. There was even a signature cocktail fashioned by none other than Yabu Pushelberg!




Winner in Buildings Over 1,000 Square Metres:

Neri&Hu Design and Research Office: Aranya Art Center, Qinhuangdao, China


Awards of Merit:

Lacime Architects: MOMA Lotus Resort, Chizhou City, China

LAN Architecture: Minimum-Security Area and Penitentiary Services for Integration and Probation, Nanterre, France

Zaha Hadid Architects: Leeza SOHO, Beijing, China (People’s Choice)

Oppenheim Architecture: Ayla Golf Academy and Clubhouse, Aqaba, Jordan


Winner in Buildings Under 1,000 Square Metres:

Gh3* architecture: Borden Park Natural Swimming Pool, Edmonton, Canada


Awards of Merit:

SUP Atelierwith THAD: Indoor Playground (Doubling as Lecture Hall), Yueyang City, China (People’s Choice)

Lasvit with OV-A: Lasvit Headquarters, Nový Bor, Czech Republic


Winner in Single-Family Houses:

Mork-Ulnes Architects: Skigard Hytte, Kvitfjell, Norway


Awards of Merit:

S-AR: Casa Cosmos, Puerto Escondido, Mexico

BAAQ’: Casa Naila, Puerto Escondido, Mexico (People’s Choice)

Ian Moore Architects: Redfern Warehouse, Sydney, Australia

Jun Sang You / AtelierJun: The Boulder House, Seoul, South Korea

D’Arcy Jones Architects: Double Header House, Victoria, Canada

Winner in Multi-Unit Residential Buildings:

Summary: VDC, Vale de Cambra, Portugal (People’s Choice)

Award of Merit:

L. McComber: Off Plaza, Montreal, Canada


Winner in Temporary and Experiential Installations:

Lambert & Fils with DWA Design Studio: Caffè Populaire, Milan, Italy

Awards of Merit:

APPAREIL Architecture: Le Dernier Petit Cochon, Grand-Métis, Canada (People’s Choice)

Studio Roosegaarde: Presence, Groningen, Netherlands


Winner in Adaptive Re-Use:

Atelier tao+c: Capsule Hotel in a Rural Library, Qinglongwu, China (People’s Choice)


Awards of Merit:

Valerio Dewalt Trainwith FGM Architects: UC Laboratory Schools: Gordon Parks Arts Hall, Chicago, U.S.

Coarchitecture, Atelier In Situ and Jacques Plante Architecte: Diamant Theatre | Engraved in the Memory, Québec City, Canada

MAD Architects: Hutong Bubble 218, Beijing, China


Winner in Landscape Architecture:

EFFEKT Architects: Forest Tower, Rønnede, Denmark (People’s Choice)

Awards of Merit:

DECA Architecture: Voronoi’s Corrals, Milos, Greece

Turenscape: Suzhou Zhenshan Park, Suzhou City, China




Winner in Furniture:

Molteni&C: Surf Sofa by Yabu Pushelberg

Awards of Merit:

Nienkämper: Heartbeat by Karim Rashid

IBEBI: Tam Tam by Arter & Citton

Eric Haskins Design: Rammed Earth Chair (People’s Choice)


Winner in Furniture Systems and Collections:

Fantoni with Gensler: Atelier (People’s Choice)

Awards of Merit:

GAN: Lan Seating by Lyndon Neri & Rossana Hu of Neri&Hu

Reform: Match by Muller Van Severen

Valcucine: Logica Celata by Gabriele Centazzo


Winner in Lighting Fixtures:

Flos: Noctambule by Konstantin Grcic (People’s Choice)

Awards of Merit:

Lambert & Fils: Sainte Collection in collaboration with Rachel Bussin

Vibia: Tube by Ichiro Iwasaki


Winner in Lighting Installations:

Stacklab: Temporary Tyvek Lighting Installation at Stackt Market, Toronto, Canada (People’s Choice)

Award of Merit:

Licht Kunst Licht: National Museum of Qatar, Doha, Qatar


Winner in Interior Products:

Pair: Toast by Studio Hopkins (People’s Choice)

Awards of Merit:

Carnegie: Xorel Knit by Heather Bush

Coalesse: Nanimarquina Collection for Coalesse by Nani Marquina and John Hamilton

Winner in Architectural Products:

Tarkett North America: iD Mixonomi

Awards of Merit:

Rimadesio: Modulor by Giuseppe Bavuso (People’s Choice)

Tarkett North America: Tatami System



Winner in Commercial and Institutional Interiors:

Manea Kella: Casa Popeea, Brăila, Romania

Awards of Merit:

Atelier Alter Architects: Yingliang Stone Natural History Museum Xiamen, China (People’s Choice)

Rockwell Group: Cedric’s at the Shed, New York City, U.S.

Esrawe Studio: Tori Tori Santa Fe, Mexico City, Mexico

Vermilion Zhou Design Group: Green Massage, Shanghai, China


Winner in Residential Interiors:

Johnson Chou: ShadowBox, Toronto, Canada

Awards of Merit:

Akb Architects: Lytton Park Residence, Toronto, Canada (People’s Choice)

Aspa: Apartment in Santa Catarina, Lisbon, Portugal





Winner in Ideas and Prototypes:

EFFEKT Architects: The Urban Village Project (People’s Choice)

Award of Merit:

OSD Outside: Farm to City


Winner in Unbuilt Buildings:

Moriyama & Teshima Architects: Honey Bee Research Centre at the University of Guelph

Award of Merit:

Lemay: Bellechasse Transport Centre (People’s Choice)





Connery Friesen (University of Manitoba): In the Spirit of Shibui: Re-Animating the Ruins of Fukushima

Awards of Merit:

Siqi Wangand Shawn Dylan Johnston(University of Toronto): Horizontal (People’s Choice)

Austin Corriher and Caroline Cox(North Carolina State University): KEF International Airport

Students of Islamic Azad University of Najafabad (Prof. Hossein Moradi): Kooshk Research Pavilion





Dorte Mandrup: The Wadden Sea Centre, Ribe, Denmark

Awards of Merit:

Gh3*architecture: Borden Park Natural Swimming Pool, Edmonton, Canada (People’s Choice)

KPMB Architects and Stantec Architecture: Isttaniokaksini / Science Commons at University of Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada





Studio Lotus: Krushi Bhawan, Bhubaneswar, India (People’s Choice)

Awards of Merit:

Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects: MLK1101 Supportive Housing, Los Angeles, U.S.

La SHED Architecture: A Modern Barn: Au Gré des Champs, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada

Whiteknee: Zig Zag Park, Bogotá, Colombia



The 2020 AZ Awards is presented by JennAirKeilhauer, and Landscape Forms and sponsored by Cosentino and Great Gulf.

The 2020 AZ Awards Gala sponsors are Dark ToolsGeorge Brown School of DesignImprove, and Scavolini.