BigMat International Architecture Award 2013

by eleonora usseglio prinsi
0 Love 857 Visits

COMPETITION _ The BigMat S.c.p.a. is organizing the international architecture prize entitled BigMat’13 International Architecture Award.

The Award is intended to acknowledge and draw attention to those architectural works that have made a major contribution to contemporary architectural culture in Spain, France, Italy, the Czech Republic and the Walloon and Brussels City regions of Belgium, through particular sensitivity in these works in terms of their dialogue with atemporal issues in the history of architecture, as well as in their relationship with energy efficiency parameters, sustainable construction and the search for greater comfort wherever people live, without limits on construction type (residential, commercial, industrial, institutional buildings, etc.).

The competition is open solely to architects with a professional office in any of the five countries taking part. The works presented as candidates for the prize must have been constructed by those architects in the country of their residence.

The Award will consider all architectural works finished between January 1st, 2005, and January 1st, 2013.
The registration period for the Award in its present edition will run until June 10th, 2013. The final awards ceremony will take place in Granada on November 22nd, 2013.

The panel of judges shall initially select a maximum of 20 architectural works for each of the countries, totalling a maximum of 100 works overall. The candidates included among the finalists will be invited to submit hard copies of the plans necessary for the correct understanding of the project.

A national prize will be established for each of the participating countries. The five winning projects in each of the respective countries will then compete for the BigMat’13 International Architecture Award.
Among these 15 laureates, a Special Mention for Young Architects will be given to the architectural project built by an architect under 40 years of age on the date the work was completed. 

The panel of judges will comprise a renowned member, from each of the participating countries, as Marie Vanhamme, President of the CIVA (International Centre for Town), Carlos Ferrater, Dominique PerraultCino Zucchi, architect and lecturer in Architecture and urban Design at the Milan Polytechnic and Zdenek Lukes, historian and Theorist on Art and Architecture.