2017 ABB LEAF Awards Winners

by Cecilia Di Marzo
1 Love 3271 Visits

On the evening of 21 September, more than 140 of architecture’s leading figures gathered at London’s Royal Horseguards Hotel to celebrate the projects and personalities that have made the biggest impact upon our built environment, and the international design community, over the last 12 months and beyond. During a gala dinner the awards were handed out across 19 categories.

Highlights on the evening included II by IV DESIGN receiving the Overall Award for The Residences of 488 University Ave, an accolade bestowed upon the project chosen by the ABB LEAF Awards judging panel as the best shortlisted entrant across all categories. Architect, academic and educational trailblazer Sir Peter Cook was honoured as this year’s recipient of the Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Following a longstanding relationship with the event, this year witnessed pioneering technology leader ABB join as headline partner and trophy patron, a move that recognised both parties’ emphasis upon honouring the best and brightest in global architecture and design, and ABB’s commitment to positioning itself as a collaborative partner for the global architect community with the technology to bring many architectural visions to life.

The judging panel included Alan Crawford, the Crawford Partnership; Andrew Bromberg at AEDAS; Firas Hnoosh, Perkins+Will; Kai-Uwe Bergmann, BIG; Michael Clark, AEDAS; Michele Pasca di Magliano, Zaha Hadid Architects; Paolo Rossi, SOM; Theo Nicolaou, Areen Design; Vanessa Brady OBE, SBID president and Viviana Muscettola, Zaha Hadid Architects.

“As a company at the forefront of developing relevant technologies for the design and construction industry, we were delighted to be the headline partner and trophy patron for the 2017 awards,” commented Katrin Förster, International Key Account Manager for Architects and Interior Designers at ABB, as the evening was drawing to a close.

“It was fantastic to see the diverse number of entries into the ABB LEAF Awards from around the globe. It must have been a tough but inspiring job for our highly experienced team of judges to select the finalists and then the winners. The atmosphere tonight has been brilliant and I would like to pay congratulations to everyone who was shortlisted and those masterpieces crowned winners of their category.”

The full list of the winners of the ABB LEAF Awards 2017 is:

Overall Winner
II BY IV DESIGN, The Residences of 488 University Ave, Toronto

Lifetime Achievement of the Year
Sir Peter Cook

Developer and Development Project of the Year
CoCo architecture, Olemps

Best Façade Design and Engineering of the Year
ASTAD, National Museum of Qatar

Urban Design of the Year
Yazgan Design Architecture Ltd Co, Hamamyolu Urban Deck

Best Future Buildng of the Year (Under Construction)
Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia, Dallara Motorsport Academy
Nuovo complesso didattico ed espositivo “Dallara”

Best Future Building of the Year (Drawing Board)
Andrew Bromberg at Aedas, Chengdu City Music HallBest

Sustainable Development of the Year (Future)
Cerno+Architekten, Extension of the Family House

Best sustainable Development of the Year (Completed)

Public Building of the Year
SSH, Sheikh Abdullah Al Salem Cultural Centre

Refurbishment of the Year
Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanlioglu, BEYAZIT STATE LIBRARY

Hospitality Building of the Year (Future)

ENOTA, Tetusa Oasis Resort

Hospitality Building of the Year (Completed)
WOW Architects | Warner Wong Design, Vommuli Island

Commercial Building of the year Award
Design Unit, Factory in the Forest

Interior Design Award (Future)
II BY IV DESIGN, The Residences of 488 University Ave

Interior Design Award (Completed)
Nikken Space Design, XIV Toba Bettei

Residential Building of the Year (Multiple Occupancy)
Sanjay Puri architectsIshatvam 9

Residential Building of the Year (Single Occupancy)

studio mk27Jungle house

Mixed-Use Building of the Year

Labics & 3TI Progetti, Città del Sole

For details of all shortlisted entrants, please visit www.arena-international.com/leafawards



    Dallara Academy 29

    Dallara Academy

    Varano de' Melegari / Italy / 2018



    Istanbul / Turkey / 2015

    Ishatvam 9 59

    Ishatvam 9

    Ranchi / India / 2017

    Jungle  house 80

    Jungle house

    Guarujá / Brazil

    Città del Sole 20

    Città del Sole

    Rome / Italy / 2013