The Sixth Annual AZ Awards Now Open for Submissions

Submissions close on February 22, 2016

by Angelica Marino
0 Love 1632 Visits


Now in its 6th year, the AZ Awards attracts entries from some of the most innovative firms around the world. In 2015, over 700 architects, landscape architects, product designers, interior designers, students and manufacturers from 43 countries entered the AZ Awards. From this impressive number of entries, the jury selected 66 finalists, singled out for their innovative design, environmental or social benefit, or for simply evoking, as Vitruvius called it, delight.

A jury of internationally renowned experts in the areas of product design, architecture, landscape architecture and interiors convenes in Toronto to evaluate the
entries. Past jury members have included Giulio Cappellini, Ron Arad, Craig Dykers, Ken Smith, and George Yabu and Glenn Pushelberg. The 2016 AZ Awards jury will be announced soon.

Winners are revealed at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto in June. The gala has become the event of the season. Every year, over 400 top architects, designers and industry-related professionals come together to meet and mingle with the finalists and winners. Finalists from as far away as Japan and Brazil join in the festivities.

The exposure and international recognition that winners and finalists receive through the AZ Awards includes being published in Azure’s Annual AZ Awards Issue, on Azure’s online and social media channels, and on the communication platforms of AZ Awards’ international media partners.

Presented by Keilhauer, the 2016 AZ Awards offers the opportunity for design and architecture professionals worldwide to step into the spotlight, elevate their profile, and raise public awareness for their firm and their clients.

The AZ AWARDS is presented by Keilhauer and sponsored by Urban Capital,
TD Bank Group, George Brown School of Design, Alpi and CRH Canada Group.






The 2016 AZ Awards are open to:

- Designers and design firms from all disciplines
- Architects, landscape architects and architectural firms
- Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2015
- Clients and manufacturers
- Projects must be completed by December 31, 2015
- Products must be prototyped or in production
- Concepts must have been developed or presented for the first time in 2015



Architecture: Residential buildings; commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square metres; commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square metres; temporary and demonstration projects

Landscape Architecture: Public and private landscapes

Interiors: Residential spaces; commercial and institutional spaces

Design: Furniture; furniture systems; lighting fixtures; lighting installations; interior products; architectural products

Concepts: Unbuilt competition entries; concepts/prototypes

A+ Award: Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2015. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize.


All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Projects may be entered in one or both categories.

For the Social Good Award, projects must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm.


For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use.


Submissions Close Monday, February 22, 2016.

Find out more at